Brief History of the College  

Jigawa state College of Islamic and Legal Studies, Ringim was established in 1992, with aim of training a middle class manpower for judiciary and Education. The establishment of this institution, like in other Northern states, was principally necessitated by the need to produce Judges and Registrars for both Shari’ah courts, Area courts and Magistrate’s courts as well as to train teachers for primary and junior secondary schools.

The college started operation at Sabon Gida primary school, Ringim which has become its permanent site. It started with three Academic Departments, namely, Shari’ah, Law and Languages. The college was  one of the four colleges under the then Jigawa State Polytechnic (later called Hussaini Adamu Polytechnic), which comprised College of Engineering and Technology Kazaure, College of Business and Management Studies, Dutse, College of Agriculture Hadejia and College of Islamic and Legal Studies, Ringim, with the central Administration sited at Kazaure.

The college became autonomous institution, when the law No.04 of 2005 was enacted. Before the autonomy the college was headed by a Director. The following were the Directors who headed the college.

Bashir Ahmed B/Kudu     – 1992 – 1996

Yakubu Abbas Yakubu     – 1996 – 1998

Tijjani M. Jabo                  – 1998 – 2001

Abbas A. Abbas                – 2001 – 2006

In 2007 following the conferment of an autonomous status on the College, Abbas A Abbas who had been a Director, was appointed as the first Provost of the college. In March, 2015, Dr. Mustapha Yusha’u Ringim was appointed as the new Provost of the College.

To meet the requirement of NCE as a minimum teaching qualification the College was given an approval by the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) Abuja to run NCE programme in 2013. This is in addition to the Diploma and Advanced Diploma Programmes run by the College.


Law Establishing the College

Autonomy was conferred to the college by Jigawa State of Nigeria Law No. 04 of 2005 duly assented by His Excellency the Executive Governor of the state on 12th December, 2005.